Grand Traverse Bay Travel

pointbestie

We just returned from our trip “Up North”, which took us to Frankfort, MI, Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore, Petoskey, Boyne City, Harbor Springs and Charlevoix. What you see above is one of the few sunny moments we had on our trip. The picture is of Point Bestie lighthouse, just north of Frankfort. It is an amazingly beautiful place. I still have a hard time believing how few people (in Detroit – a 4 1/2 hour drive) haven’t experienced some of the world-class destinations we have in the Grand Traverse area of the state. Granted, I can’t drive more than 30 minutes without falling asleep, so I really shouldn’t judge.

On our trip, we stopped at Pond Hill Farm and enjoyed the livestock barn and giant squash rocket. There was also a nice “farm to table” cafe and wine tasting.

pond5pond3 pond1

The pigs were adorable and reminded us of our cats, which made lunch challenging. Josh had no problem ordering a ham and cheese sandwich, but Kayla and I are still feeling guilty after our visit.

Below is Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore. There is a dune climb that nearly killed me. The 7 mile scenic drive was more my speed. It included several scenic overlooks, which is where the 2 pictures below were taken. As you’ll see, the dunes overtook the bench Josh is sitting on. While there, I was wearing my, “Just a Missouri Girl in a Michigan World” t-shirt. I figured the company deserved my business, since they were clever enough to advertise the shirt to me, based on my Facebook hometown and current location. The kids and Rich think it’s stupid and roll their eyes whenever I wear it. A couple from South St. Louis was thrilled to see it though. For some reason the guy handed me his business card. I guess he thinks I’ll be looking for a lawyer when I’m in St. Louis.

blog1 blog2

The kids and I also visited Castle Farms in Charlevoix. It is a wedding venue that has been beautifully restored to it’s 1918 grandeur. http://www.castlefarms.com/.

blog3There is a cool model train, antique toy, royal china and wedding topper collection. The guided tour lasted 2 hours, which was enough to drive Kayla and Josh crazy. But, I found it interesting and well worth the price ($15 per adult).

While in Frankfort I dropped my Iphone 5 on the beach and left it, without knowing it was gone. About 10 minutes later Rich got a phone call from a woman, saying she found my phone. She called 5 of my contacts trying to get someone to answer. She refused the reward I attempted to give her. Its these kinds of things that restore your faith in humanity. Just a few days prior, my friend accidentally left her blackberry at Qdoba. When she returned 10 minutes later it was gone. A used Iphone 5 is $250 and you have to pay a $40 activation fee at Verizon to use it. I am so glad the right person found my phone.

I hope that my post has inspired you to travel to Grand Traverse Bay. If you plan to visit, feel free to drop me a line and I can send you a detailed itinerary.

One thought on “Grand Traverse Bay Travel

Leave a Reply

